Review
Strapi Review for Agencies (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons
By Red Kite Search Agency Created Updated 8 min read
Summary
The cheapest route for agencies: a free open-source edition with unlimited usage and a per-project cloud price from $35. You carry the hosting and maintenance work on self-hosted builds, and G2 shows 206 reviews with no score in the snippet we read. Pricing: Self-hosted: Community free under the MIT licence, Growth $45 a month for 3 users, Enterprise custom. Strapi Cloud, per project a month: Starter $35, Pro $90 and Business $450.
What is Strapi and who is it for in 2026?
Strapi is an open-source headless CMS. The Community edition is free under the MIT licence with unlimited usage. Self-hosted Growth costs $45 a month, Strapi Cloud is priced per project from $35 to $450 a month, and Enterprise is custom with a SOC 2 report.
Who it suits: Developer-led agencies that want to self-host client CMSs or pay a low per-project cloud price.
Strapi is an open-source headless CMS. You can host it yourself for free, pay for a managed Strapi Cloud project, or buy self-hosted plans with extra features.
Agencies use it to keep CMS costs low and control hosting. This review covers the plans, the per-project cloud cost, and the work you take on.
| Detail | Summary |
|---|---|
| Best for | Freelancers to agencies |
| Editorial score | 4.2 / 5 |
| Review-site ratings | No review-site rating found |
| Pricing | Self-hosted: Community free under the MIT licence, Growth $45 a month for 3 users, Enterprise custom. Strapi Cloud, per project a month: Starter $35, Pro $90 and Business $450. |
How much does Strapi cost for agencies in 2026?
Community is free under the MIT licence with unlimited usage. Self-hosted Growth costs $45 a month for three users, with $15 a month per extra user, and adds Live Preview, Releases, and 14 days of content history. Enterprise is custom and includes a SOC 2 report, SSO, audit logs, and review workflows.
Strapi Cloud is priced per project a month: Starter costs $35 for 100,000 API requests and 50 GB of storage, Pro costs $90 for one million requests and 250 GB, and Business costs $450 for ten million requests and two environments.
Single Sign-On on Growth is an add-on at $150 a month plus $50 a month per user. Annual prices and a free trial were not shown on the pages we read.
| Plan | Price | What stands out |
|---|---|---|
| Community | $0 per month (monthly billing) | Free, MIT licence, unlimited usage, community support |
| Growth | $45 per month (monthly billing) | Self-hosted, 3 users, $15 a month per extra user |
| Cloud Starter | $35 per month (monthly billing) | Per project, 100K API requests, 50 GB storage |
| Cloud Pro | $90 per month (monthly billing) | Per project, 1M API requests, 250 GB storage |
| Cloud Business | $450 per month (monthly billing) | Per project, 10M API requests, 2 environments |
| Enterprise | Custom | SSO, review workflows, audit logs, SOC 2 report |
Is Strapi a good fit for agencies?
Yes, for cost-conscious developer teams. Community is free with unlimited usage, and Cloud at $35 to $90 per project is the lowest per-client managed price in this category.
The trade-off is work. Self-hosting means you run hosting, updates, and backups for every client, and clients without a maintenance contract can end up with an unpatched CMS.
Trial the tool on a real client job rather than a demo project. Note how long setup takes, which features you actually touch in the first week, and which questions the team has to ask support. That record is the best guide to whether the plan you picked is the right one.
Agree who owns the tool inside the agency. A named owner keeps content models tidy, watches usage against plan limits, and reviews the bill when renewal approaches. Without one, small projects tend to collect forgotten seats and unused spaces.
Plan the handover early. A CMS is only as good as the client's ability to use it, so write a short editing guide, record a walkthrough, and agree who holds the admin account when the engagement ends.
What are the integration, security, and support facts?
Strapi is open source with a customisable API. Its security page states SOC 2 certification and GDPR compliance, and its blog says it achieved SOC 2 Type 2. Enterprise includes a SOC 2 report, SSO, and audit logs, according to the pricing page. 2FA was not stated.
Support is community on the free edition, basic on Growth, and standard on Enterprise. A mobile app was not stated.
Before you buy, ask the vendor for the current plan limits in writing and note the date. Limits, seat counts, and trial terms change often, and a screenshot of what you were promised makes any later conversation about billing simpler.
Plan a review at ninety days. Compare actual use with the plan you bought, and downgrade or switch if half the features sit unused. Small agencies save most by trimming plans they have outgrown or never fully used.
What integrations, security, and support does Strapi offer?
Features beyond price decide whether a tool fits your agency stack and your clients' security questions. This is what Strapi states publicly, as checked in October 2026.
| Area | What Strapi offers |
|---|---|
| Integrations | An open-source, customisable API; a full integrations list was not read |
| Security | The vendor states SOC 2 certification (Type 2 per its blog) and GDPR compliance; Enterprise includes a SOC 2 report, SSO and audit logs; 2FA was not stated |
| Support | Community support on the free edition, basic support on Growth and standard support on Enterprise |
| Apps | A mobile app was not stated |
What are the pros and cons of Strapi for agencies?
Here is a quick summary of where Strapi helps agencies and where it can get in the way, based on its plans and public feedback.
Pros
- Community is free and open source under the MIT licence, with unlimited usage.
- Strapi Cloud costs $35 per project a month and $90 for Pro.
- Self-hosted Growth costs $45 a month for 3 users, with $15 a month per extra user.
- Enterprise includes a SOC 2 report, SSO, audit logs and review workflows.
Cons
- Self-hosting means you run hosting, updates and backups for each client.
- Cloud plans are per project, so cost scales with each client site.
- SSO on Growth is a $150 a month add-on.
- A mobile app and most support detail were not stated.
What do reviewers say about Strapi?
Strapi has little public review-site feedback so far. G2 lists 206 reviews for Strapi but the page we read showed no overall score, so none is recorded. The themes below come from independent reviews and user feedback instead.
Recurring reviewer themes
- G2 lists 206 reviews for Strapi; the snippet we read showed no overall score.
- G2 describes it as letting developers build faster with a customisable API.
How does Strapi compare with its alternatives?
Next to Sanity, Strapi is self-hostable and cheaper but has a smaller ecosystem of hosted tooling. Next to Storyblok, it has no visual editor but costs less per site. Next to WordPress, it is headless and developer-built. The table compares the options.
| Tool | Editorial score | Review-site ratings | Pricing | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strapi | 4.2 / 5 | No review-site rating found | Self-hosted: Community free under the MIT licence, Growth $45 a month for 3 users, Enterprise custom. Strapi Cloud, per project a month: Starter $35, Pro $90 and Business $450. | Freelancers to agencies |
| Sanity | 4.5 / 5 | G2 4.7 | Free $0 with up to 20 seats and 2 public datasets. Growth $15 per seat a month for up to 50 seats and 2 datasets, public or private. Enterprise is custom and can be paid annually. Self-serve plans accept monthly payments only. | Developer-led agencies to enterprise teams |
| Storyblok | 4.4 / 5 | G2 4.5 | Per space. Starter is free for 1 space. Growth costs $99 monthly or $90.75 a month billed yearly with 5 seats. Growth Plus costs $349 monthly or $319.91 billed yearly with 15 seats. Premium and Elite are custom. | Small agencies to enterprise teams |
| WordPress.com | 4.2 / 5 | G2 4.4 | Free plan. Personal $4, Premium $8, Business $25 and Commerce $45 a month billed every 12 months; Enterprise runs on WordPress VIP. | Individuals to enterprises |
How should an agency roll out Strapi?
Prototype on Community.
Move one client to Strapi Cloud Starter.
Move to Pro as API requests grow.
Who should choose Strapi, and who should skip it?
No tool fits every agency. Use these lists to check whether Strapi matches how your team works before you start a trial.
Choose Strapi if
- You want the lowest CMS cost.
- You can host and maintain client sites.
- You want open source.
Skip Strapi if
- You want a visual editor.
- You cannot maintain hosting.
- You need stated certifications below Enterprise.
What should agencies check before buying Strapi?
Small details in plans and limits decide whether a tool works in practice. Confirm these points before you commit to Strapi, ideally during a trial on a real client account.
Pre-purchase checklist
- Decide self-hosted or Cloud.
- Count client projects.
- Plan maintenance.
- Prototype on Community.
Is Strapi worth it for agencies in 2026?
Strapi is the cheapest route for agencies, with a free open-source edition and per-project cloud plans from $35.
The trade-offs are hosting work, per-project cloud cost, and a G2 score we could not read. G2 lists 206 reviews. We rate it 4.2 out of 5 for agencies: excellent value for developer-led teams.
The cheapest route for agencies: a free open-source edition with unlimited usage and a per-project cloud price from $35. You carry the hosting and maintenance work on self-hosted builds, and G2 shows 206 reviews with no score in the snippet we read.
Frequently asked questions
- What is Strapi best for?
- Developer-led agencies that want a low-cost or self-hosted headless CMS.
- How much does Strapi cost?
- Community is free, Growth is $45 a month, and Cloud Starter is $35 per project a month.
- Is Strapi open source?
- Yes, Community is free under the MIT licence.
- Does Strapi have a SOC 2 report?
- Enterprise includes one, according to the pricing page.
- Is Strapi well reviewed?
- G2 lists 206 reviews, with no overall score in the snippet we read.
Sources
Prices, plan limits, and ratings were gathered in October 2026 from:
- Strapi pricing page
- G2