Review
Slack Review for Agencies (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons
By Red Kite Search Agency Created Updated 7 min read
Summary
The dominant team chat tool, with 2,600+ apps, shared client channels on paid plans, SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and data residency from Business+. The free plan keeps only 90 days of history and one-to-one external messages, and costs rise sharply at Business+ and Enterprise+. Pricing: Free plan. Pro $7.25 and Business+ $15 per user per month billed annually ($8.75 and $18 monthly); Enterprise+ is quoted at about $45 annually.
What is Slack and who is it for in 2026?
Slack is a team messaging platform with channels, huddles, workflows, canvases and Slack AI, plus Slack Connect for working in shared channels with up to 250 outside organizations. It has a free plan and Pro, Business+ and Enterprise+ plans priced per user.
Who it suits: Agencies that want a chat hub for internal work and shared channels with clients and contractors.
Slack is the team chat tool that many agencies run their day on. It offers channels, huddles, workflows, canvases, and Slack AI, and its Slack Connect feature lets you work in shared channels with clients, vendors, and partners. It has a free plan and Pro, Business+, and Enterprise+ plans priced per user.
For agencies, the value is fast internal communication and a clean way to talk to clients without email chains. This review covers the plans, the Slack Connect limits, and the security evidence.
| Detail | Summary |
|---|---|
| Best for | Small teams to enterprises |
| Editorial score | 4.4 / 5 |
| Review-site ratings | G2 4.5 |
| Pricing | Free plan. Pro $7.25 and Business+ $15 per user per month billed annually ($8.75 and $18 monthly); Enterprise+ is quoted at about $45 annually. |
How much does Slack cost for agencies in 2026?
Slack has a free plan. Pro costs $7.25 per user per month on annual billing and $8.75 on monthly billing. Business+ costs $15 on annual billing and $18 monthly. Enterprise+ is quoted at about $45 per user per month billed annually. The page also shows a 50 percent off promotion for three months.
Free keeps 90 days of message history, up to 10 apps, one-to-one huddles, and one-to-one external messages. Pro adds unlimited history and apps, group huddles, and Slack Connect with up to 250 organizations. Business+ adds SAML SSO, data residency, advanced AI, and a four-hour first response. Enterprise+ adds unlimited workspaces, HIPAA support, multi-SAML, and priority support.
Because the free plan hides history after 90 days, an agency that wants a searchable archive of client conversations needs a paid plan.
| Plan | Price | What stands out |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 90 days of history, up to 10 apps, 1:1 huddles, 1:1 external messages |
| Pro | $7.25 per user per month (annual billing); $8.75 monthly | Unlimited history and apps, group huddles, Slack Connect with up to 250 organizations, 24/7 support |
| Business+ | $15 per user per month (annual billing); $18 monthly | Pro plus SAML SSO, data residency, advanced AI, 4-hour first response |
| Enterprise+ | Talk to sales | About $45 per user per month billed annually; unlimited workspaces, HIPAA support, multi-SAML, priority support |
Is Slack a good fit for working with clients?
Yes on paid plans. Slack Connect supports DMs, group chats, and dedicated channels with up to 250 outside organizations, so each client can have a shared channel with your team.
G2 reviewers value fast, organized communication in channels. Agencies should agree etiquette with clients, such as response times and what belongs in a channel versus a ticket, so shared channels do not become an always-on obligation.
Free is limited to one-to-one external messages, which rules out shared client channels.
How strong are Slack security and AI privacy?
Slack lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, HIPAA support on Enterprise+, and GDPR tools. SSO starts with Google OAuth on Pro, SAML on Business+, and multi-SAML on Enterprise+, and data residency is included from Business+. Enterprise key management is an Enterprise+ add-on.
Slack states that AI runs in its own infrastructure, that customer data is not shared with model providers, and that it is not used to train models. Pro and above get 24/7 support, and mobile apps were not stated on the pages checked.
What integrations, security, and support does Slack offer?
Features beyond price decide whether a tool fits your agency stack and your clients' security questions. This is what Slack states publicly, as checked in October 2026.
| Area | What Slack offers |
|---|---|
| Integrations | More than 2,600 apps in the Slack App Directory |
| Security | SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001; HIPAA support on Enterprise+; GDPR tools; SSO by plan (Google OAuth on Pro, SAML on Business+, multi-SAML on Enterprise+); data residency on Business+ and Enterprise+; AI runs in Slack infrastructure and customer data is not used to train models |
| Support | Pro and above: 24/7 support; Business+ and Enterprise+: 4-hour first response |
| Apps | Mobile apps were not stated on the pages checked |
What are the pros and cons of Slack for agencies?
Here is a quick summary of where Slack helps agencies and where it can get in the way, based on its plans and public feedback.
Pros
- Slack Connect lets paid plans work with up to 250 external organizations in DMs, group chats and channels.
- Pro from $7.25 per user per month billed annually, with unlimited history and apps.
- More than 2,600 apps, AI summaries and search, and 24/7 support on paid plans.
- SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA support and data residency options.
Cons
- Free keeps 90 days of history, 10 apps and only one-to-one external messages.
- Business+ costs $15 and Enterprise+ about $45 per user per month billed annually.
- SAML SSO starts on Business+, and Enterprise key management is an Enterprise+ add-on.
- Mobile apps were not stated on the pages checked, and guest account limits were not detailed.
What do reviewers say about Slack?
Public review sites give a useful read on how Slack holds up after the first month. The scores below were checked in October 2026 and will have moved slightly since.
| Source | Rating | Number of reviews |
|---|---|---|
| G2 | 4.5 / 5 | 39,960 |
Recurring reviewer themes
- G2 shows Slack at 4.5 from 39,960 reviews.
- Reviewers value fast, organized communication in channels.
- Slack states that customer data is not used to train large language models.
How does Slack compare with its alternatives?
Next to Zoom, Slack handles ongoing messaging while Zoom handles live meetings. Next to Notion, it is for conversation rather than documents. The table compares the options.
| Tool | Editorial score | Review-site ratings | Pricing | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Slack | 4.4 / 5 | G2 4.5 | Free plan. Pro $7.25 and Business+ $15 per user per month billed annually ($8.75 and $18 monthly); Enterprise+ is quoted at about $45 annually. | Small teams to enterprises |
| Zoom | 4.3 / 5 | G2 4.5 | Free Basic plan. Pro $14.16 and Business $18.33 per user per month billed annually (saves up to 16%); Enterprise is quoted. | Individuals to enterprises |
| Notion | 4.2 / 5 | G2 4.6 | Free plan. Plus $10 and Business $20 per member per month on yearly billing; Enterprise is custom. | Freelancers to mid-size teams |
How should an agency roll out Slack?
Create a workspace on the free plan, and set up channels for each client or service.
Move to Pro to keep history and open Slack Connect with one client.
Agree response-time etiquette with clients before you share more channels.
Who should choose Slack, and who should skip it?
No tool fits every agency. Use these lists to check whether Slack matches how your team works before you start a trial.
Choose Slack if
- You want a chat hub for your team.
- You want shared channels with clients.
- You want SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 evidence.
Skip Slack if
- You need long history on a free plan.
- You want a low-cost plan with SSO.
- You need mobile apps confirmed.
What should agencies check before buying Slack?
Small details in plans and limits decide whether a tool works in practice. Confirm these points before you commit to Slack, ideally during a trial on a real client account.
Pre-purchase checklist
- Decide how clients join channels.
- Agree response-time etiquette.
- Check SSO and data residency needs.
- Start on Pro.
Is Slack worth it for agencies in 2026?
Slack is the dominant team chat tool, with 2,600 or more apps, Slack Connect for client channels, and SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 evidence.
The trade-offs are a limited free plan, a steep price rise at Business+ and Enterprise+, and detail that was not stated about mobile and guests. G2 shows 4.5 from 39,960 reviews. We rate it 4.4 out of 5 for agencies: the best chat hub for client work on a paid plan.
The dominant team chat tool, with 2,600+ apps, shared client channels on paid plans, SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and data residency from Business+. The free plan keeps only 90 days of history and one-to-one external messages, and costs rise sharply at Business+ and Enterprise+.
Frequently asked questions
- What is Slack best for?
- Agencies that want a chat hub for internal work and shared channels with clients.
- How much does Slack cost?
- Pro is $7.25 per user per month on annual billing and Business+ is $15. Enterprise+ is quoted.
- Does Slack have a free plan?
- Yes. It keeps 90 days of history and allows up to 10 apps.
- Can I chat with clients in Slack?
- Yes, with Slack Connect on paid plans, which supports up to 250 external organizations.
- Is Slack well reviewed?
- G2 shows 4.5 out of 5 from 39,960 reviews.
Sources
Prices, plan limits, and ratings were gathered in October 2026 from:
- Slack pricing page
- Slack security page
- G2