Review
Mailchimp Review for Agencies (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons
By Red Kite Search Agency Created Updated 7 min read
Summary
A familiar, easy email tool with a free plan and 300+ integrations. Prices rise with your contact count, automation and seats are limited on lower plans, servers are US-only, and Mailchimp does not offer client accounts for agencies. Pricing: Free for 250 contacts. Essentials $13, Standard $20 and Premium $350 a month at the smallest contact tier (500 contacts, 10,000 for Premium); prices rise with contacts.
What is Mailchimp and who is it for in 2026?
Mailchimp is an email marketing platform with campaigns, automation flows, pop-up forms, templates and more than 300 integrations. It sells Free, Essentials, Standard and Premium plans priced by contact count, with a 14-day trial on paid plans.
Who it suits: Agencies that run newsletters and simple automation for small-business clients and want a familiar, easy tool.
Mailchimp is the email marketing platform most small businesses have heard of. It offers campaigns, automation flows, pop-up forms, templates, and more than 300 integrations, with a free plan and three paid plans priced by contact count.
Agencies use it for client newsletters and simple lifecycle email. This review covers how the pricing scales, what each plan includes, and where agencies outgrow it.
| Detail | Summary |
|---|---|
| Best for | Small teams to mid-size |
| Editorial score | 4.1 / 5 |
| Review-site ratings | G2 4.4 |
| Pricing | Free for 250 contacts. Essentials $13, Standard $20 and Premium $350 a month at the smallest contact tier (500 contacts, 10,000 for Premium); prices rise with contacts. |
How much does Mailchimp cost for agencies in 2026?
Mailchimp has a free plan for up to 250 contacts. Essentials starts at $13 a month for 500 contacts, Standard starts at $20 a month for 500 contacts, and Premium starts at $350 a month for 10,000 contacts. Paid plans have a 14-day free trial, and Premium offers a one-month trial on contacting sales.
Free allows 500 sends a month with one seat and one audience, and no automation. Essentials adds 3 seats, 3 audiences, 24/7 email and chat support, and automation flows up to four steps. Standard adds 5 seats, 5 audiences, up to 200 flows with branching, dynamic content, and custom reports. Premium adds unlimited seats and audiences, enterprise SSO, phone support, and a dedicated onboarding specialist.
These are starting prices at the smallest contact tier, and prices rise with your contact count. The monthly send limit is also a multiple of your contacts, so a large list on a low plan can hit limits quickly. Price your real list size before you compare.
| Plan | Price | What stands out |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 per month (monthly billing) | 250 contacts, 500 sends a month, 1 seat, 1 audience, no automation |
| Essentials | $13 per month (monthly billing) | Starts at 500 contacts; 3 seats, 3 audiences, 24/7 email and chat support, flows up to 4 steps |
| Standard | $20 per month (monthly billing) | Starts at 500 contacts; 5 seats, 5 audiences, 200 flows with branching, dynamic content, custom reports |
| Premium | $350 per month (monthly billing) | Starts at 10,000 contacts; unlimited seats and audiences, enterprise SSO, phone support, onboarding specialist |
Is Mailchimp a good fit for agency client email?
For small-business clients with simple needs, yes. G2 reviewers value ease of use for campaigns and newsletters, and the free plan is a low-risk way to start a new client.
Agencies run into limits quickly. Each client usually needs a separate account or audience, client accounts for agencies were not stated, and the lower plans cap seats, audiences, and automation steps.
A practical approach is to keep each client in their own Mailchimp account under their billing, and to use a shared template library so your team works consistently across accounts.
How strong are Mailchimp security and support?
Mailchimp states SOC 2 reports covering security, availability, and process integrity, and ISO 27001 with documents available through the Intuit compliance portal. Two-factor authentication can be enabled, and enterprise SSO is included with Premium.
Its owned servers are in US data centers, and GDPR information is available without further detail. Support is 24/7 email and chat on Essentials and Standard, with phone support in business hours on Premium. A mobile app was not stated.
What integrations, security, and support does Mailchimp offer?
Features beyond price decide whether a tool fits your agency stack and your clients' security questions. This is what Mailchimp states publicly, as checked in October 2026.
| Area | What Mailchimp offers |
|---|---|
| Integrations | More than 300 integrations |
| Security | SOC 2 reports and ISO 27001 certification, with documents through the Intuit compliance portal; 2FA can be enabled; enterprise SSO on Premium; Servers are in US data centers; GDPR information is available |
| Support | Free: email for 30 days; Essentials and Standard: 24/7 email and chat; Premium: priority 24/7 email and chat plus phone in business hours |
| Apps | A mobile app was not stated |
What are the pros and cons of Mailchimp for agencies?
Here is a quick summary of where Mailchimp helps agencies and where it can get in the way, based on its plans and public feedback.
Pros
- A free plan for up to 250 contacts and 500 sends a month.
- Entry paid plans from $13 a month for 500 contacts, with 24/7 email and chat support.
- More than 300 integrations and 100+ pre-built templates.
- SOC 2 reports, ISO 27001 and 2FA; enterprise SSO on Premium.
Cons
- Prices scale with contacts and the stated figures are for the smallest tier.
- Free has no automation, and Essentials limits flows to 4 steps.
- Premium costs $350 a month from 10,000 contacts.
- Data is hosted in US data centers, and client accounts for agencies were not stated.
What do reviewers say about Mailchimp?
Public review sites give a useful read on how Mailchimp holds up after the first month. The scores below were checked in October 2026 and will have moved slightly since.
| Source | Rating | Number of reviews |
|---|---|---|
| G2 | 4.4 / 5 | 5,436 |
Recurring reviewer themes
- G2 shows Mailchimp at 4.4 from 5,436 reviews.
- G2 data shows 30% of reviewers give four stars.
- Reviewers value ease of use for campaigns and newsletters.
How does Mailchimp compare with its alternatives?
Next to ActiveCampaign, Mailchimp is easier and cheaper to start but weaker on automation and CRM. Next to Brevo, it has a bigger integration base while Brevo is cheaper by send volume and adds SMS and WhatsApp. Next to HubSpot, it is an email tool rather than a CRM platform. The table compares the four.
| Tool | Editorial score | Review-site ratings | Pricing | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mailchimp | 4.1 / 5 | G2 4.4 | Free for 250 contacts. Essentials $13, Standard $20 and Premium $350 a month at the smallest contact tier (500 contacts, 10,000 for Premium); prices rise with contacts. | Small teams to mid-size |
| ActiveCampaign | 4.3 / 5 | G2 4.4 | 14-day free trial. Starter $15, Plus $49, Pro $79 and Enterprise $145 a month on annual billing at 1,000 contacts. | Small to enterprise teams |
| Brevo | 4.2 / 5 | G2 4.5 | Free plan. Starter $8.08, Standard $16.17 and Professional $449.08 a month on annual billing ($9, $18 and $499 monthly); Enterprise from $2,499 a month. | Small to enterprise teams |
| HubSpot | 4.4 / 5 | G2 4.4 | Free tools for up to 2 users. Sales Hub Starter $7 and Professional $90 per seat per month on annual billing ($20 and $100 monthly); Enterprise starts at $150 per seat. | Small teams to enterprises |
How should an agency roll out Mailchimp?
Start on the free plan with one client list, build a template, and send one campaign.
Add one automation flow, and check whether Essentials or Standard is needed for the steps you want.
Set up a shared template library so every client account looks consistent.
Who should choose Mailchimp, and who should skip it?
No tool fits every agency. Use these lists to check whether Mailchimp matches how your team works before you start a trial.
Choose Mailchimp if
- You run simple newsletters for small clients.
- You want a free plan to start.
- You want 24/7 email and chat support on paid plans.
Skip Mailchimp if
- You need deep automation on a low plan.
- You need EU data hosting.
- You need agency client accounts.
What should agencies check before buying Mailchimp?
Small details in plans and limits decide whether a tool works in practice. Confirm these points before you commit to Mailchimp, ideally during a trial on a real client account.
Pre-purchase checklist
- Price your real contact count.
- Check send limits against your list.
- Decide how to separate clients.
- Use the 14-day trial.
Is Mailchimp worth it for agencies in 2026?
Mailchimp is a familiar, easy email tool with a free plan, 300 or more integrations, SOC 2 evidence, and 24/7 support on paid plans.
The trade-offs are prices that climb with contacts, limited automation on lower plans, and US-only hosting. G2 shows 4.4 from 5,436 reviews. We rate it 4.1 out of 5 for agencies: a good starting point for simple client email.
A familiar, easy email tool with a free plan and 300+ integrations. Prices rise with your contact count, automation and seats are limited on lower plans, servers are US-only, and Mailchimp does not offer client accounts for agencies.
Frequently asked questions
- What is Mailchimp best for?
- Agencies running newsletters and simple automation for small-business clients who want an easy, familiar tool.
- How much does Mailchimp cost?
- Essentials starts at $13 a month, Standard at $20, and Premium at $350, at the smallest contact tier. Prices rise with contacts.
- Does Mailchimp have a free plan?
- Yes. It covers up to 250 contacts and 500 sends a month.
- Does Mailchimp have automation?
- Yes, from Essentials with up to four steps, and up to 200 flows with branching on Standard and Premium.
- Is Mailchimp well reviewed?
- G2 shows 4.4 out of 5 from 5,436 reviews.
Sources
Prices, plan limits, and ratings were gathered in October 2026 from:
- Mailchimp pricing page
- Mailchimp security page
- G2