Review
Harvest Review for Agencies (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons
By Red Kite Search Agency Created Updated 8 min read
Summary
The easiest way to get from tracked hours to a sent invoice. Pick Toggl Track if you just want time data, or Productive if you want budgets and profitability across the whole agency. Pricing: Free for 1 seat. Teams $9 and Enterprise $14 per seat per month (billed annually).
What is Harvest and who is it for in 2026?
Harvest tracks time and expenses and turns them into invoices, with a mobile timer and a large integration list. Profitability reports and timesheet approvals sit on the Enterprise plan.
Who it suits: Freelancers and small to mid-size agencies that bill by time or project and want tracking and invoicing in one product.
Harvest is a time tracking and invoicing tool that has been around for many years. You track time with a timer or manual entries, record expenses, and turn both into invoices that clients can pay online. Reviewers repeatedly describe it as simple, which is exactly the point.
It suits agencies and freelancers that bill by time or by project and want the whole path from hours to invoice in one place. It integrates with popular project and accounting tools, and its mobile app is well liked for starting timers away from the desk.
| Detail | Summary |
|---|---|
| Best for | Freelancers and small agencies |
| Editorial score | 4.1 / 5 |
| Review-site ratings | G2 4.3, Capterra 4.3 |
| Pricing | Free for 1 seat. Teams $9 and Enterprise $14 per seat per month (billed annually). |
How much does Harvest cost for agencies in 2026?
Harvest has a Free plan for one seat and two projects. Teams costs $9 per seat per month billed annually ($11 monthly), and Enterprise costs $14 annually ($17.50 monthly), with Enterprise Plus quoted individually. Beyond a base amount, additional invoices, projects, clients, and tasks are billed based on usage, so costs can vary.
Time tracking, invoicing, and expense tracking are available on all plans. Team reporting and accounting and payment integrations with QuickBooks, Xero, and Stripe start at Teams. Profitability reporting, timesheet approval, activity logs, SSO, custom exports, and required notes on entries are Enterprise-only, which matters if you want to review time before billing.
| Plan | Price | What stands out |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 1 seat, 2 projects |
| Teams | $9 per seat/month (annual billing); $11 monthly | Team reports, accounting and payment integrations |
| Enterprise | $14 per seat/month (annual billing); $17.50 monthly | Profitability, approvals, SSO, unlimited custom reports |
| Enterprise Plus | Custom | Custom terms |
How good is Harvest for invoicing clients from tracked time?
This is its strongest use. Invoicing and expense tracking are included on every plan, so you can build an invoice from tracked hours and expenses without retyping them. Reviewers say reporting and invoicing suit agencies that bill clients by project.
Accounting and payment integrations arrive with the Teams plan, so the free plan is best for a solo operator who sends invoices by hand. Check that the integrations you rely on are included on the plan you choose.
What are the weaknesses of Harvest for agency teams?
Reporting is the main complaint. Some reviewers find it clunky or not flexible enough for custom reports and say they export to Excel, and the Free and Teams plans cap custom reports at four. Others wanted more granular user permissions and features such as recurring entries.
Setup takes time, because teams need their own rules for defining projects and billing. A reviewer also reported an unexpected renewal charge, so note your renewal date. Profitability reporting needs the Enterprise plan, which is a step up in price.
What integrations, security, and support does Harvest offer?
Features beyond price decide whether a tool fits your agency stack and your clients' security questions. This is what Harvest states publicly, as checked in October 2026.
| Area | What Harvest offers |
|---|---|
| Integrations | 50+ core integrations stated on the pricing page; Notable: Asana, Slack, Stripe, QuickBooks Online, Xero, Jira, GitHub, Google Calendar |
| Security | PCI-DSS merchant certificate stated, though Harvest does not store payment information; Relies on its host SOC 2 audit and does not state its own SOC 2 certification; SAML-based SSO on the Enterprise plan; data encrypted in transit and at rest; Two-factor authentication, ISO 27001, and GDPR were not stated on the pages we could read |
| Support | Help center and a contact form; Scheduled phone support on Teams and Enterprise plans; Enterprise Plus adds a dedicated customer success manager and custom onboarding |
| Apps | iOS, Android, macOS, and Windows apps, plus Chrome, Edge, and Firefox browser extensions |
What are the pros and cons of Harvest for agencies?
Here is a quick summary of where Harvest helps agencies and where it can get in the way, based on its plans and public feedback.
Pros
- Simple, quick timer and manual entry, plus a well-liked mobile app.
- Time, expenses, and invoices live together, so billing is fast.
- Integrations with Asana, Basecamp, Slack, and QuickBooks.
- Free plan for one seat and two projects.
Cons
- Reporting is less flexible than some agencies need, so many export to a spreadsheet.
- Profitability reporting and timesheet approval require the Enterprise plan.
- Accounting and payment integrations start on the Teams plan.
- Permissions and recurring-entry options are limited.
What do reviewers say about Harvest?
Public review sites give a useful read on how Harvest holds up after the first month. The scores below were checked in October 2026 and will have moved slightly since.
| Source | Rating | Number of reviews |
|---|---|---|
| G2 | 4.3 / 5 | 843 |
| Capterra | 4.3 / 5 | 367 |
Recurring reviewer themes
- G2 shows Harvest at 4.3 from 843 reviews, and Capterra shows 4.3 from 367 reviews.
- Capterra reviewers describe the interface as easy to learn and call the timer and manual entries straightforward.
- Integrations with tools such as Basecamp, Asana, Slack, and QuickBooks come up often.
- The mobile app is praised for starting and stopping timers on the go.
- Complaints include steep fees for larger teams, inflexible reporting, setup effort, and renewal charge surprises.
How does Harvest compare with its alternatives?
Next to Toggl Track, Harvest adds invoicing at a similar price, while Toggl Track is lighter and cleaner for pure tracking. Next to Productive, it lacks budgets and resource planning. Next to Bonsai, it is more focused on teams while Bonsai includes proposals and contracts. The table compares them.
| Tool | Editorial score | Review-site ratings | Pricing | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harvest | 4.1 / 5 | G2 4.3, Capterra 4.3 | Free for 1 seat. Teams $9 and Enterprise $14 per seat per month (billed annually). | Freelancers and small agencies |
| Toggl Track | 4 / 5 | G2 4.6, Capterra 4.7 | Free plan. Starter about $9 and Premium about $16 per user per month (billed annually). | Freelancers and small agencies |
| Productive | 4.3 / 5 | Capterra 4.6, G2 4.6 | 7-day free trial on Essential. Essential about $10-$12 and Professional about $25-$29 per user per month; Ultimate is quote-based. | Mid-size agencies |
| Bonsai | 3.9 / 5 | Capterra 4.6, G2 4.3, Trustpilot 4.5 | 7-day free trial. About $9-$49 per user per month on annual billing (Basic to Elite). | Freelancers and solo consultants |
How should an agency roll out Harvest?
Create clients and projects with the right rates, and set up expense categories before the team starts logging. Getting rates correct at the start avoids awkward corrections on invoices.
Turn on the integrations you need, such as accounting and payment connections, which start on the Teams plan. Test one invoice end to end, from tracked hours to a paid invoice, before billing real clients.
Agree on conventions for notes and project naming, since permissions and recurring entries are limited. If you later need profitability reports or timesheet approvals, price the Enterprise plan before making promises to your team.
Review the reports monthly. Because custom reporting is capped and less flexible, decide early which four reports matter most and save them. If you find yourself exporting to a spreadsheet every month, that is a sign to check whether an alternative fits your reporting needs better.
Who should choose Harvest, and who should skip it?
No tool fits every agency. Use these lists to check whether Harvest matches how your team works before you start a trial.
Choose Harvest if
- You bill by time or project and want tracking plus invoicing together.
- You need a good mobile timer.
- You want simple integrations with common project and accounting tools.
Skip Harvest if
- You need flexible custom reporting without exporting to a spreadsheet.
- You need fine-grained user permissions.
- You need profitability reports without paying for Enterprise.
What should agencies check before buying Harvest?
Small details in plans and limits decide whether a tool works in practice. Confirm these points before you commit to Harvest, ideally during a trial on a real client account.
Pre-purchase checklist
- Confirm the accounting and payment integrations you need are on Teams.
- Understand usage-based charges for extra invoices and projects.
- Decide whether timesheet approval, an Enterprise feature, is essential.
- Note the renewal date to avoid surprise charges.
Is Harvest worth it for agencies in 2026?
Harvest is the easiest way to get from tracked hours to a sent invoice, and it has been refined over many years. For agencies and freelancers that bill by time, it is a dependable default.
Reporting and permissions are limited, and profitability needs Enterprise. We rate it 4.1 out of 5 for agencies; pick Toggl Track if you only need time data, or Productive if you want budgets across the agency.
The easiest way to get from tracked hours to a sent invoice. Pick Toggl Track if you just want time data, or Productive if you want budgets and profitability across the whole agency.
Frequently asked questions
- Is Harvest good for agencies?
- Yes, for agencies that bill by time or project and want tracking and invoicing in one tool. It lacks budgets and resource planning.
- How much does Harvest cost?
- Free for one seat. Teams is $9 and Enterprise is $14 per seat per month on annual billing, with usage-based charges beyond a base amount.
- Does Harvest do invoicing?
- Yes, invoicing and expense tracking are on all plans. Accounting and payment integrations start on Teams.
- Does Harvest have profitability reports?
- Profitability reporting is available on the Enterprise plan only.
- Harvest or Toggl Track?
- Harvest if you want invoicing included, Toggl Track if you only need simple time tracking and reports.
Sources
Prices, plan limits, and ratings were gathered in October 2026 from:
- Harvest pricing page
- G2
- Capterra
- FirstSales