Review
FreshBooks Review for Agencies (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons
By Red Kite Search Agency Created Updated 7 min read
Summary
Easy, client-friendly invoicing with unlimited time tracking, proposals and retainers from Plus and iOS and Android apps. Plans are limited by billable clients, extra team members cost $11 each, and SOC 2, GDPR and 2FA details were not available. Pricing: 30-day free trial. Lite $23, Plus $43 and Premium $70 a month at regular prices, with an 80% discount for the first four months; Select is quoted.
What is FreshBooks and who is it for in 2026?
FreshBooks is invoicing and accounting software with time tracking, expenses, estimates, proposals, retainers, project profitability and payments. It sells Lite, Plus and Premium plans by billable client limit, with a Select plan quoted and a 30-day free trial.
Who it suits: Small agencies and freelancers that bill by project, retainer or hour and want simple invoicing with client limits.
FreshBooks is invoicing and accounting software for service businesses. It handles invoices, expenses, time tracking, proposals, retainers, and project profitability, with iOS and Android apps.
Agencies use it to bill by project, retainer, or hour without a full accounting package. This review covers the plans, the client limits, and the fees.
| Detail | Summary |
|---|---|
| Best for | Freelancers to small teams |
| Editorial score | 4.2 / 5 |
| Review-site ratings | G2 4.5 |
| Pricing | 30-day free trial. Lite $23, Plus $43 and Premium $70 a month at regular prices, with an 80% discount for the first four months; Select is quoted. |
How much does FreshBooks cost for agencies in 2026?
There is a 30-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee. At regular monthly prices, Lite costs $23, Plus costs $43, and Premium costs $70. The page also shows an 80 percent discount for the first four months. Select is quoted.
Lite allows five billable clients and has no proposals or retainers. Plus allows 50 billable clients with proposals and retainers. Premium adds unlimited clients and project profitability. Unlimited time tracking is on every plan.
Team members cost $11 a month per user, and payment fees are 2.9 percent plus $0.30 per card transaction. Add those to the plan price when you compare.
| Plan | Price | What stands out |
|---|---|---|
| Lite | $23 per month (monthly billing) | 5 billable clients, unlimited time tracking, estimates, expense tracking |
| Plus | $43 per month (monthly billing) | 50 billable clients, proposals and retainers, expense receipt scanning, accountant access |
| Premium | $70 per month (monthly billing) | Unlimited clients, project profitability, bill receipt scanning, custom email templates |
| Select | Custom | 2 team members included, dedicated phone support, lower payment fees, custom onboarding |
Is FreshBooks a good fit for agency billing?
Yes, for small agencies and freelancers. Retainers and proposals on Plus suit recurring client work, and time tracking supports hourly billing. G2 reviewers value simple invoicing and time tracking.
Larger agencies often outgrow it because of the per-user team fees and the lighter accounting depth. Check how many clients you bill before you choose.
Run a month of invoices through the trial to see whether the workflow saves time.
Trial the tool on a real client job rather than a demo project. Note how long setup takes, which features you actually touch in the first week, and which questions the team has to ask support. That record is the best guide to whether the plan you picked is the right one.
Agree who owns the tool inside the agency. A named owner keeps templates tidy, watches usage against plan limits, and reviews the bill when renewal approaches. Without one, small tools tend to collect forgotten seats and unused features.
What are the security and support facts?
FreshBooks states it is PCI compliant, with SSL encryption and automatic backups. SOC 2, GDPR, and 2FA were not stated, and its security page returned an error when we checked.
Support is free by phone and email during the trial, and Select adds dedicated phone support. An integration count was not stated.
Before you buy, ask the vendor for the current plan limits in writing and note the date. Limits, seat counts, and trial terms change often, and a screenshot of what you were promised makes any later conversation about billing simpler.
Plan a review at ninety days. Compare actual use with the plan you bought, and downgrade or switch if half the features sit unused. Small agencies save most by trimming plans they have outgrown or never fully used.
What integrations, security, and support does FreshBooks offer?
Features beyond price decide whether a tool fits your agency stack and your clients' security questions. This is what FreshBooks states publicly, as checked in October 2026.
| Area | What FreshBooks offers |
|---|---|
| Integrations | An integration count was not stated |
| Security | PCI compliant; SSL encryption and automatic backups stated; SOC 2, GDPR and 2FA were not stated (the security page returned an error) |
| Support | Free phone and email during the trial; Select adds dedicated phone support |
| Apps | iOS and Android apps |
What are the pros and cons of FreshBooks for agencies?
Here is a quick summary of where FreshBooks helps agencies and where it can get in the way, based on its plans and public feedback.
Pros
- A 30-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee.
- Plus costs $43 a month for 50 billable clients with proposals and retainers.
- Premium adds unlimited clients and project profitability at $70 a month.
- Unlimited time tracking on every plan and iOS and Android apps.
Cons
- Lite allows only 5 billable clients and has no proposals or retainers.
- Prices shown are the regular monthly prices; the page also shows an 80% discount for the first four months.
- Team members cost $11 a month per user, and payment fees are 2.9% plus $0.30 per card transaction.
- Security details and an integration count were not stated (the security page returned an error).
What do reviewers say about FreshBooks?
Public review sites give a useful read on how FreshBooks holds up after the first month. The scores below were checked in October 2026 and will have moved slightly since.
| Source | Rating | Number of reviews |
|---|---|---|
| G2 | 4.5 / 5 | 980 |
Recurring reviewer themes
- G2 shows FreshBooks at 4.5 from 980 reviews.
- Reviewers value simple invoicing and time tracking.
- FreshBooks states it is PCI compliant.
How does FreshBooks compare with its alternatives?
Next to QuickBooks, FreshBooks is simpler but less deep in accounting. Next to Xero, it is easier for invoicing but lighter on reports. Next to Bonsai, it is more of an accounting tool than a client workflow tool. The table compares the options.
| Tool | Editorial score | Review-site ratings | Pricing | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FreshBooks | 4.2 / 5 | G2 4.5 | 30-day free trial. Lite $23, Plus $43 and Premium $70 a month at regular prices, with an 80% discount for the first four months; Select is quoted. | Freelancers to small teams |
| QuickBooks | 3.9 / 5 | G2 4 | 30-day free trial. Regular monthly prices: Simple Start $38, Essentials $85, Plus $140, and Advanced $340 per month. New customers see 50% off for the first 3 months. | Small to mid-size agencies |
| Xero | 4.1 / 5 | G2 4.4 | Early $27, Growing $59, and Established $97 per month, with no per-user fees. New customers see a steep discount for the first 3 months. | Small to mid-size agencies |
| Bonsai | 3.9 / 5 | Capterra 4.6, G2 4.3, Trustpilot 4.5 | 7-day free trial. About $9-$49 per user per month on annual billing (Basic to Elite). | Freelancers and solo consultants |
How should an agency roll out FreshBooks?
Run a month of invoices in the 30-day trial.
Pick Plus for retainers and proposals.
Set a billing calendar so invoices go out on time.
Who should choose FreshBooks, and who should skip it?
No tool fits every agency. Use these lists to check whether FreshBooks matches how your team works before you start a trial.
Choose FreshBooks if
- You bill by project, retainer, or hour.
- You want simple invoicing.
- You want a 30-day trial.
Skip FreshBooks if
- You have more than 50 clients on a low plan.
- You need deep accounting.
- You need security detail confirmed.
What should agencies check before buying FreshBooks?
Small details in plans and limits decide whether a tool works in practice. Confirm these points before you commit to FreshBooks, ideally during a trial on a real client account.
Pre-purchase checklist
- Count billable clients.
- Add team member fees.
- Use the trial.
- Check payment fees.
Is FreshBooks worth it for agencies in 2026?
FreshBooks is simple invoicing with retainers, time tracking, and project profitability.
The trade-offs are client limits on lower plans, team fees, and unstated security detail. G2 shows 4.5 from 980 reviews. We rate it 4.2 out of 5 for agencies: good for small teams.
Easy, client-friendly invoicing with unlimited time tracking, proposals and retainers from Plus and iOS and Android apps. Plans are limited by billable clients, extra team members cost $11 each, and SOC 2, GDPR and 2FA details were not available.
Frequently asked questions
- What is FreshBooks best for?
- Small agencies and freelancers that bill by project, retainer, or hour.
- How much does FreshBooks cost?
- Plus is $43 a month at regular prices.
- Is there a free trial?
- Yes, for 30 days.
- Does FreshBooks have retainers?
- Yes, from Plus.
- Is FreshBooks well reviewed?
- G2 shows 4.5 out of 5 from 980 reviews.
Sources
Prices, plan limits, and ratings were gathered in October 2026 from:
- FreshBooks pricing page
- FreshBooks features pages
- G2