Review
Basecamp Review for Agencies (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons
By Red Kite Search Agency Created Updated 8 min read
Summary
The simplest tool in this group, with flat pricing that gets cheaper per person as the team grows. It deliberately skips heavy customization, resource planning and reporting, so agencies that need workload views or deep reporting will outgrow it. Pricing: Free plan. Freelancer $25, Studio $59, Pro $99, and Unlimited $299 per month as listed on the pricing page, with no per-user fees.
What is Basecamp and who is it for in 2026?
Basecamp is a project management and team communication tool with to-dos, message boards, schedules, time tracking, and client collaboration in one place. Paid plans have fixed prices with no per-user fees, and clients, contractors and guests count as users.
Who it suits: Small to mid-size agencies and consultants who want a simple, opinionated tool that clients can use without training.
Basecamp is the project management tool that argues against complexity. It combines to-dos, message boards, schedules, file storage, time tracking, and client collaboration in one simple structure, and it charges flat prices with no per-user fees.
That stance is why agencies either love it or leave it. It is easy for clients and new hires to understand without training, and it deliberately leaves out the resource planning and deep reporting that bigger tools offer. This review covers the plans, the client features, and who should look elsewhere.
| Detail | Summary |
|---|---|
| Best for | Freelancers to mid-size agencies |
| Editorial score | 3.9 / 5 |
| Review-site ratings | G2 4.1 |
| Pricing | Free plan. Freelancer $25, Studio $59, Pro $99, and Unlimited $299 per month as listed on the pricing page, with no per-user fees. |
How much does Basecamp cost for agencies in 2026?
Basecamp has a free plan and lists four paid plans with fixed prices: Freelancer at $25 per month, Studio at $59, Pro at $99, and Unlimited at $299. The Unlimited price is stated as billed annually, and a separate monthly-billing price was not captured, so confirm it at checkout.
The free plan covers one project and up to five users with 1 GB of storage. Freelancer allows up to three active projects and 20 users. Studio allows ten active projects and unlimited users with 25 GB of storage. Pro allows 25 active projects and 100 GB. Unlimited removes the project cap, adds 1 TB of storage, priority support, personalized onboarding, and an extended 45-day trial.
Because there are no per-user fees, Basecamp gets cheaper per person as a team grows. A twenty-person agency on Studio pays a single flat price, where a per-user tool charges for every seat. Clients, contractors, and guests count as users, so the unlimited-user plans matter for agencies that invite many outside people.
| Plan | Price | What stands out |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 1 project, up to 5 users, 1 GB storage, time tracking and project templates |
| Freelancer | $25 per month (annual billing) | Up to 3 active projects, 20 users, 5 GB storage, 24/7/365 support |
| Studio | $59 per month (annual billing) | Up to 10 active projects, unlimited users, 25 GB storage, unlimited tools per project |
| Pro | $99 per month (annual billing) | Up to 25 active projects, unlimited users, 100 GB storage |
| Unlimited | $299 per month (annual billing) | Unlimited projects and users, 1 TB storage, priority 24/7/365 support, personalized onboarding, extended 45-day trial |
Is Basecamp good for working with agency clients?
It is one of its main strengths. G2 reviewers say it works well when clients or outside people join a project, because everything is in one place and nothing needs explaining. Studio and above include unlimited users, so you can invite every client contact.
The homepage shows walking a client through mockups for sign-off, and a project area with proofs and client uploads, but a dedicated approvals feature and its plan availability were not stated. If formal approvals matter, test the workflow with a real client.
What does Basecamp leave out?
Resource planning, workload views, and deep reporting. Time tracking and project templates are included on every plan, but agencies that need to see capacity across clients or profitability by project will outgrow it.
Project caps also bite. The Free plan allows one project and Freelancer allows three active projects, so an agency with many clients needs Studio or Pro.
How good are Basecamp support and security?
Paid plans list 24/7/365 support through a request form, with Unlimited getting priority handling, and the company says every message is read and answered. No numeric response time is stated, and phone and chat were not stated.
Security pages describe HTTPS, encrypted uploads, AES-256 backups, and annual PCI DSS compliance. Its hosting provider publishes SOC 3 and SOC 2 Type II reports, but GDPR, SSO, and two-factor authentication were not stated, and a mobile app was not stated either.
What integrations, security, and support does Basecamp offer?
Features beyond price decide whether a tool fits your agency stack and your clients' security questions. This is what Basecamp states publicly, as checked in October 2026.
| Area | What Basecamp offers |
|---|---|
| Integrations | Official ChatGPT and Claude connectors with MCP support, plus CLI access for bring-your-own AI agents; A total number of other integrations was not stated |
| Security | HTTPS in transit, encrypted uploads at rest, AES-256 database backups, and annual PCI DSS compliance; Its hosting provider publishes SOC 3 and SOC 2 Type II reports; GDPR, SSO and two-factor authentication were not stated |
| Support | A support request form, with 24/7/365 support on paid plans and priority support on Unlimited; No numeric response time is stated |
| Apps | Mobile apps were not stated on the pages read |
What are the pros and cons of Basecamp for agencies?
Here is a quick summary of where Basecamp helps agencies and where it can get in the way, based on its plans and public feedback.
Pros
- Flat prices with no per-user fees, and unlimited users from Studio upward.
- Easy for clients and new hires to understand without training.
- Time tracking and project templates on every plan, including Free.
- ChatGPT and Claude connectors, bring-your-own AI agents and MCP support.
Cons
- Few reporting, workload and resource-planning tools.
- Plans cap active projects, from 1 on Free to 25 on Pro.
- Security details such as GDPR, SSO and two-factor authentication were not stated.
- A mobile app was not stated, and no numeric support response time is given.
What do reviewers say about Basecamp?
Public review sites give a useful read on how Basecamp holds up after the first month. The scores below were checked in October 2026 and will have moved slightly since.
| Source | Rating | Number of reviews |
|---|---|---|
| G2 | 4.1 / 5 | 5,486 |
Recurring reviewer themes
- G2 shows Basecamp at 4.1 from 5,486 reviews.
- G2 reviewers praise a clear, uncluttered interface that is easy to adopt.
- Reviewers say it works well when clients or outside people join a project.
- Reviewers describe it as suited to teams that value simplicity over heavy customization.
How does Basecamp compare with its alternatives?
Next to Asana, Basecamp is simpler and flat-priced, while Asana adds approvals, workload, and timelines. Next to Trello, it offers far more structure in one place. Next to ClickUp, it is much less customizable but far easier to adopt. The table compares the four.
| Tool | Editorial score | Review-site ratings | Pricing | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basecamp | 3.9 / 5 | G2 4.1 | Free plan. Freelancer $25, Studio $59, Pro $99, and Unlimited $299 per month as listed on the pricing page, with no per-user fees. | Freelancers to mid-size agencies |
| Asana | 4.2 / 5 | G2 4.4, Capterra 4.5 | Free for up to 2 users. Starter $10.99 and Advanced $24.99 per user per month (billed annually). | Small to large agencies |
| ClickUp | 4 / 5 | G2 4.6, Capterra 4.6 | Free plan. Paid plans start around $9-$12 per user per month (billed annually); Business adds timesheets and resource management. | Small to mid-size agencies |
| Trello | 3.8 / 5 | G2 4.4, Capterra 4.5 | Free plan. Standard $5 and Premium $10 per user per month (billed annually). | Freelancers and small agencies |
How should an agency roll out Basecamp?
Start on the free plan with one client project, and invite the client contact to see how they experience it.
Build a project template for your standard engagement, with the to-dos, schedule, and message board you always use.
Move to Studio or Pro when you pass the project cap, and set up time tracking on the first billable project.
Who should choose Basecamp, and who should skip it?
No tool fits every agency. Use these lists to check whether Basecamp matches how your team works before you start a trial.
Choose Basecamp if
- You want a simple tool that clients can use without training.
- You want flat pricing with unlimited users from Studio.
- You want time tracking and templates on every plan.
Skip Basecamp if
- You need workload and resource planning across clients.
- You need deep reporting or profitability views.
- You need confirmed SSO, GDPR, and mobile apps.
What should agencies check before buying Basecamp?
Small details in plans and limits decide whether a tool works in practice. Confirm these points before you commit to Basecamp, ideally during a trial on a real client account.
Pre-purchase checklist
- Count your active projects against the plan caps.
- Test how clients review work and give sign-off.
- Ask about GDPR, SSO, and mobile apps.
- Decide how you will plan capacity outside Basecamp.
Is Basecamp worth it for agencies in 2026?
Basecamp is a calm, simple project tool with flat prices, unlimited users from Studio, and time tracking on every plan. It suits small and mid-size agencies that value clarity over configuration.
The trade-offs are limited reporting and resource planning, project caps on lower plans, and unstated security and mobile details. G2 shows 4.1 from 5,486 reviews. We rate it 3.9 out of 5 for agencies: excellent for simplicity and client access, limited for capacity planning.
The simplest tool in this group, with flat pricing that gets cheaper per person as the team grows. It deliberately skips heavy customization, resource planning and reporting, so agencies that need workload views or deep reporting will outgrow it.
Frequently asked questions
- What is Basecamp best for?
- Small and mid-size agencies and consultants who want a simple project tool with flat pricing that clients can use without training.
- How much does Basecamp cost?
- There is a free plan. Freelancer is $25 per month, Studio is $59, Pro is $99, and Unlimited is $299, with no per-user fees.
- Does Basecamp charge per user?
- No. Prices are flat, and Studio and higher plans include unlimited users.
- Does Basecamp have time tracking?
- Yes. Time tracking is listed on every plan, including Free.
- Is Basecamp well reviewed?
- G2 shows 4.1 out of 5 from 5,486 reviews.
Sources
Prices, plan limits, and ratings were gathered in October 2026 from:
- Basecamp pricing page
- Basecamp security page
- G2