Review
Airtable Review for Agencies (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons
By Red Kite Search Agency Created Updated 7 min read
Summary
Very flexible and well reviewed, but it is a toolkit rather than a ready-made project manager. Client portals cost extra, and there is no time tracking, so it works best alongside other tools. Pricing: Free plan. Team $20-$24 and Business $45-$54 per seat per month (annual vs monthly billing); Enterprise Scale is custom.
What is Airtable and who is it for in 2026?
Airtable combines a spreadsheet-style database with interfaces, forms, automations, and AI credits so teams can build their own project trackers, content calendars, and client dashboards. Plans are priced per seat with record and automation limits.
Who it suits: Agencies with a builder on the team who want custom workflows, content calendars, and client dashboards.
Airtable combines a spreadsheet-style database with interfaces, forms, automations, and AI credits. Agencies use it to build their own trackers, content calendars, and client dashboards rather than adopt a fixed project management structure.
That flexibility is the draw and the risk. It rewards a team member who likes building systems, and it can overwhelm a team that wants a ready-made tool. This review covers the plans, the client features, and the gaps.
| Detail | Summary |
|---|---|
| Best for | Small to mid-size teams |
| Editorial score | 4.2 / 5 |
| Review-site ratings | G2 4.6 |
| Pricing | Free plan. Team $20-$24 and Business $45-$54 per seat per month (annual vs monthly billing); Enterprise Scale is custom. |
How much does Airtable cost for agencies in 2026?
Airtable has a free plan for up to 5 editors. Team costs $20 per seat per month on annual billing ($24 monthly), and Business costs $45 annually ($54 monthly). Enterprise Scale is custom.
Limits scale with the plan: 1,000 records per base on Free, 50,000 on Team, 125,000 on Business, and 500,000 on Enterprise Scale, with matching automation run limits. Business adds SAML SSO, an admin panel, and premium sync integrations. Client portals are a paid add-on on Team and Business, priced from a monthly amount per 15 guests, so budget for them if clients need access.
| Plan | Price | What stands out |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Up to 5 editors, 1,000 records per base, 100 automation runs, 500 AI credits per editor |
| Team | $20 per seat/month (annual billing); $24 monthly | 50,000 records per base, 25,000 automation runs, Gantt and timeline views, standard sync, portals add-on |
| Business | $45 per seat/month (annual billing); $54 monthly | 125,000 records per base, 100,000 automation runs, SAML SSO, admin panel, premium sync, portals add-on |
| Enterprise Scale | Custom | 500,000 records per base, audit logs and DLP, enterprise API, enhanced security |
Can Airtable work as an agency project manager?
With setup, yes. Interface Designer is on every plan, including mobile interfaces, and forms and automations let you build intake, approvals, and status views. G2 reviewers praise connecting data across platforms and scaling work through integrations, automations, and AI.
Time tracking is not stated, and approvals are possible through interfaces but not a built-in feature with a plan label, so agencies often pair it with a time tracker.
What about client access and support?
Client access runs through portals, an add-on with guest packs, custom branding, and admin guest controls. That is more controlled than a shared link but adds cost.
Support is not live and there is no phone line. The AI help bot is available around the clock, and replies typically take 1 to 2 business days. Its security page returned an error, so SOC 2 and GDPR details were not confirmed.
What integrations, security, and support does Airtable offer?
Features beyond price decide whether a tool fits your agency stack and your clients' security questions. This is what Airtable states publicly, as checked in October 2026.
| Area | What Airtable offers |
|---|---|
| Integrations | Google Drive, Slack, Salesforce, Jira, Zendesk, GitHub, Stripe, Tableau, Snowflake, Miro, Claude and ChatGPT; 27 named integrations on its page; no total is stated |
| Security | SAML SSO on Business and above; audit logs and DLP on Enterprise Scale; user groups and granular permissions; SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR and two-factor authentication were not stated; its security page returned an error |
| Support | In-product messaging, an AI help bot 24/7, a help center and community; no phone support; Typical reply within 1 to 2 business days; Ask an Expert sessions for Enterprise |
| Apps | iOS and Android apps with mobile interfaces for editing, forms, approvals and comments |
What are the pros and cons of Airtable for agencies?
Here is a quick summary of where Airtable helps agencies and where it can get in the way, based on its plans and public feedback.
Pros
- Flexible databases, interfaces, forms, and automations.
- A free plan for up to 5 editors.
- Strong G2 reviews, with praise for integrations, automations, and AI.
- Interface Designer on every plan, including mobile interfaces.
Cons
- No time tracking, so agencies pair it with a separate tool.
- Client portals are a paid add-on, from a monthly price per 15 guests.
- Record and automation limits apply on every plan.
- Support is not live and has no phone line; replies take 1 to 2 business days.
What do reviewers say about Airtable?
Public review sites give a useful read on how Airtable holds up after the first month. The scores below were checked in October 2026 and will have moved slightly since.
| Source | Rating | Number of reviews |
|---|---|---|
| G2 | 4.6 / 5 | 3,300 |
Recurring reviewer themes
- G2 shows Airtable at 4.6 from 3,300 reviews.
- G2 reviewers praise connecting data across platforms and managing projects.
- Reviewers value scaling work through integrations, automations, and AI.
- Reviewers note that designing systems and apps can be daunting at first.
How does Airtable compare with its alternatives?
Next to monday.com, Airtable is more database-like and flexible but needs more building. Next to ClickUp, it is less ready-made for tasks and time tracking. Next to Notion, it is better for structured data and automations. The table compares the four.
| Tool | Editorial score | Review-site ratings | Pricing | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airtable | 4.2 / 5 | G2 4.6 | Free plan. Team $20-$24 and Business $45-$54 per seat per month (annual vs monthly billing); Enterprise Scale is custom. | Small to mid-size teams |
| monday.com | 4.2 / 5 | G2 4.7, Capterra 4.6 | Free for up to 2 seats. Paid plans from about $9 to $19 per seat per month (billed annually), minimum 3 seats. | Mid-size agencies |
| ClickUp | 4 / 5 | G2 4.6, Capterra 4.6 | Free plan. Paid plans start around $9-$12 per user per month (billed annually); Business adds timesheets and resource management. | Small to mid-size agencies |
| Notion | 4.2 / 5 | G2 4.6 | Free plan. Plus $10 and Business $20 per member per month on yearly billing; Enterprise is custom. | Freelancers to mid-size teams |
How should an agency roll out Airtable?
Start with one base for one use case, such as a content calendar or a client tracker, and resist building everything at once.
Use an interface for the team and a simple form for intake, and test them with real work before adding automations.
Decide early whether clients need a portal, since that is a paid add-on, and who owns the base.
Who should choose Airtable, and who should skip it?
No tool fits every agency. Use these lists to check whether Airtable matches how your team works before you start a trial.
Choose Airtable if
- You have a builder who will design your workflows.
- You want flexible databases, interfaces, and automations.
- You want a free plan to test with.
Skip Airtable if
- You need time tracking built in.
- You want a ready-made project manager.
- You need live support or a phone line.
What should agencies check before buying Airtable?
Small details in plans and limits decide whether a tool works in practice. Confirm these points before you commit to Airtable, ideally during a trial on a real client account.
Pre-purchase checklist
- Check record and automation limits for your plan.
- Price the portals add-on if clients need access.
- Plan who owns the base design.
- Confirm security needs, since its security page was unavailable.
Is Airtable worth it for agencies in 2026?
Airtable is a powerful builder platform with strong reviews, a free plan, and good integrations, suited to agencies with someone who enjoys designing systems.
The trade-offs are no time tracking, paid client portals, record limits, and slower support. G2 shows 4.6 from 3,300 reviews. We rate it 4.2 out of 5 for agencies: excellent for custom workflows, less so for out-of-the-box delivery.
Very flexible and well reviewed, but it is a toolkit rather than a ready-made project manager. Client portals cost extra, and there is no time tracking, so it works best alongside other tools.
Frequently asked questions
- What is Airtable best for?
- Agencies that want to build custom workflows, content calendars, and client dashboards on a flexible database.
- How much does Airtable cost?
- Team is $20 per seat per month on annual billing and Business is $45. Monthly billing costs $24 and $54. There is a free plan.
- Does Airtable have a free plan?
- Yes. It covers up to 5 editors and 1,000 records per base.
- Can clients access Airtable?
- Yes, through portals sold as an add-on on Team and Business.
- Is Airtable well reviewed?
- G2 shows 4.6 out of 5 from 3,300 reviews.
Sources
Prices, plan limits, and ratings were gathered in October 2026 from:
- Airtable pricing page
- Airtable support center
- G2